Home About King King Yoga Classes Restorative Yoga Yin Yoga Yoga Retreat Massage Gallery Testimonials FAQs Contact













About King King

King King has been teaching yoga since 2006. Having first trained with Karuna Yoga (Iyengar Inspired) 500 hr and Sivananda Yoga 200 hr, she went onto further her study with various style of yoga; Ashthanga, vinyasa flow, therapeutic yoga, Ana Forrest Advance training and Advance Restorative Yoga trainer. She has received the highest certification (senior teacher) with Yoga Alliance UK. She is grateful to all her teachers, with honour and humility to be on this special journey.

King King truly believes yoga has the power to transform, to heal the body and to calm and rest the mind. Using yoga as a tool to cultivate a deep sense of calm and stillness, to bring balance and ease in the body, both physically and mentally, which enable one to become more aware and awake to live harmoniously. Everyone can benefit from yoga, active, dynamic, with the compliment of passive and restorative form.

King King teaches from the heart. Her teaching style is based on her various style of training together with her dedicated personal practice, a continuous on- going learning and exploring in all aspect of yoga. She encourage students to use breath, mindfulness, alignment to sense through the body and mind to reconnect, to understand, to appreciate and to work with the body’s own limitations and abilities, building strength, stability and flexibility to gain confidence and ease. She is passionate about promoting health, vitality and wellbeing through yoga, with particular interest in the therapeutic application of yoga through the deep, interoceptive senses of both active and passive practice.

Her classes are well-sequenced and aim to work the whole body. She teaches with patience, care and attention, encouraging and yet compassion to each individual needs

King King is an experienced massage therapist, (Thai Yoga Massage, Myofascial Release Therapy), together enabling her to understand, respect and appreciate more about how, through injury, trauma, poor postures or mental emotion, each and every individual has their own unique postural holding pattern, how by deepening the sense of awareness to tract, to improve and to restore balance and ease.

Yoga helps to improve the body and mind but even more so to promote self-observations, self awareness to establish wholeness with life.

Take a moment of stillness and breathe in the divinity of peace. KK

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Compiled by the ancient sage Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras, the eight limbs of yoga are a progressive series of disciplines which gives us an understanding of the deeper meaning, purposes and directions of yoga.

The eight limbs of yoga are:

1. Yamas: Moral and ethical restraints (sutras 2.30) There are five principles of Yamas:


a. Ahimsa (non-violence, non-harming), refrain from violent thoughts, feelings, words and actions, to be kind and treat all things with care and compassion. Refrain from forcing in practice, do no harm to one’s self or to others.

b. Satya: Non-lying be truthful and honest with oneself and others

c. Asetya: Non-stealing, find contentment with what we have and trust that we have enough.

d. Brahmacharya: conserve and use the physical energy wisely.

e. Aparigraha: Non-greed, non-attachment, even to what already is one’s own.

2. Niyamas: Individual disciplines (sutras 2.32) There are five principle of


a. Saucha: Cleanliness, internal and external. Good hygiene. Avoid excessive use of stimulants, over loading the body with food. Eating clean and sattvic foods, exercising.

b. Santosha: Contentment, satisfied with without being attached to feelings and objects. The present moment observances.

c. Tapas: in Sanskrit means heat. Where there is heat, there is also energy. Tapas can also be translated as self-discipline/effort, finding the right balance of wise effort with contentment, practice with intelligence and discrimination. (non-harming)

d. Svadhyaya: Study of one’s self. Self-observation, self-introspection and self-awareness, body, mind intellect and ego.

e. Isvara Pranidhana: Surrender to God. Surrender your ego thoughts, ego behaviour and attitudes. Live with full awareness and understanding. Develop trust and faith and devotion.

3. Asana: posture or Seat. Posture to keep a steady seat. The ability to hold a posture with steadiness and ease. (Sutras 2.46 Sthira sukham asanam)

4. Pranayama: Extension or expansion of vital energy or life force. Prana means life force, ayama means extension or expansion, with yama, it means restrain or control of the life force.

5. Pratyahara: Withdrawal the senses of desires from external world, to draw the senses inward to move on to more subtle practices.

6. Dharana: Concentration. Paying attention through intense concentration, keeps the mind from wandering, to internalize the mind.

7. Dhyana: Meditaion. Through the concentration, one can achieve a state of unbroken concentration or absorption where there are no distractions at all. In meditation, the mind and body becomes one with the object of focus.

8. Samdhi: Liberation, non-duality, wholeness and free from suffering.

Read King King's article 'What is Yoga?' in the October 2012 issue of the
Cheam Belmont & Ewell Your Neighbourhood Directory

Click here for more information
Click here for larger image

Copyright @ King King Tsang, 2019. All Rights Reserved. All Trademarks Recognised.